Skip to content

Smoked Salmon Dip

March 7, 2011

My husband thinks I’m extremely picky when it comes to food.  I disagree.  I don’t pull When Harry Met Sally-type behavior when we’re in restaurants, customizing menu items so that what is ultimately served to me is a mere whisper of what the chef originally intended.  I just know what I like; I think there’s a difference.

Take this smoked salmon dip, for instance. Inspired by a locally-prepared smoked trout dip our friends have served during both visits to Sun Valley, it had me at first taste.  I liked it so much that I would plant myself in front of the coffee table each afternoon and forget all the other hors d’oeuvres.  I wanted nothing else but this.  The pretzel chips seemed an odd pairing at first but now I quite like the two together.  That makes me easy to please, doesn’t it?

The dip had a light texture, like whipped cream cheese though there’s none of the latter here.  The fish flavor is discernable but not overpowering.  Fresh was the key flavor note due to the addition of lemon juice and garlic. To me, the simple dip was was memorable.  I took note of the ingredient list on the container (no recipe given, though) and planned to make it once I returned home.  Of course, out of the handful of ingredients listed the only one I couldn’t find was the smoked trout itself. No problem–I made do with smoked salmon. Not a bad substitution at all, I’ll admit, but now I’m on the lookout for smoked trout.

Smoked Salmon Dip

* Note:  Use my proportions as a guide. You can adjust the amount of smoked fish to suit your taste. The smoked salmon flavor is fairly prominent in my suggested amount below.

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 5 ounces smoked salmon
  • 1 pinch kosher salt, optional (smoked salmon is a bit salty already)
  • 1 clove garlic (I grated using Microplane)
  • A few sprinkles of granulated garlic
  • Fresh lemon juice (I used the juice of 3/4 lemon)

In a food processor, add the sour cream, mayonnaise, grated garlic and granulated garlic.  Pulse once or twice until the ingredients are well combined. Add the smoked salmon pieces and pulse a couple of times until the mixture is smooth.  The smoked salmon actually turned the dip a little pink.  Add the lemon juice a little at a time, to suit your taste.  Do the same with the salt. You may not even need it.

This is best if allowed to sit in the refrigerator for 30 minutes to an hour before serving.  Serve with crackers, sliced baguette or with pretzel chips.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2011 9:55 PM

    Smile. You made me want to watch my favorite movie…and eat this salmon dip. Thanks for sharing all this culinary goodness. I hope you sleep well tonight and wake up refreshed and ready to embrace the new day!

  2. March 7, 2011 10:40 PM

    My husband thinks I’m a picky eater because I turn my nose up when faced with chicken feet at Dim Sum. Thanks but no thanks.

    Smoked salmon dip, however, I can get on board with. Thanks for sharing!

  3. March 7, 2011 11:24 PM

    I’m not very versed in the world of fish dips but, I’d be happy to try out something like this as my first 🙂 I’m in love with pretzel crackers! I absolutely love Trader Joe’s Everything Pretzels!

  4. March 7, 2011 11:36 PM

    Hey Jean, this looks good and I have some left over smoked trout in my fridge;-)

  5. March 8, 2011 3:51 AM

    Not turned off by the pink-ness at all! I will be adding this to my party repertoire.

  6. March 8, 2011 7:22 AM

    I think those pretzel chips go with just about everything! Personally I could pair it with dips, cheese, even peanut butter! This dip sounds really good, I am sure it is super tasty

  7. March 8, 2011 7:56 AM

    I think I could plant myself in front of a bowl of the salmon dip just as well. I like the light lemon hint to it.

  8. March 8, 2011 12:05 PM

    Looks so good!

    I also wanted to let you know that I have passed on the ‘Stylish Blogger Award’ to you and your lovely blog – http://vanillacloudsandlemondrops.blogspot.com/2011/03/pink-champagne-truffles-and-awards.html

    • March 11, 2011 2:38 PM

      Lyndsey, thanks so much for thinking of me. I’m so flattered. Congrats on receiving the award! 🙂

  9. March 8, 2011 3:57 PM

    I’m always looking for different ways to incorporate salmon. This dip sounds so good!

  10. March 8, 2011 7:22 PM

    I sure don’t get discouraged by the pinkiness of this! I Love salmon. I need to bookmark this recipe for my next dinner with friends!

  11. March 8, 2011 8:04 PM

    Try the smoked trout at Trader Joes. We love it.

  12. March 8, 2011 11:02 PM

    This sounds delicious! I love the natural pink color.

    My boyfriend also calls me picky but I don’t think I am either – I just have high standards for food and know what I like. I consider people picky when they refuse to try new things and only eat a limited selection of foods. I’m always up to try something new at least once!

  13. March 9, 2011 9:19 AM

    What a clever idea. Hubby and I shopped for some final home decorating things at Ikea this weekend and picked up some salmon. Although it seems strange, it’s a Swedish company so I’m thinking it should be okay. This would be a lovely and different way to serve it. Thanks for the inspiration, Jean. Have a great day!

    • March 11, 2011 2:39 PM

      Trish, that’s not strange at all! I go to Ikea a couple of times a year and I always make sure to have lunch there because I love their Swedish meatballs and their lingonberry jam! I know they sell both at the front of the store so I’m sure their salmon is also good. 🙂

  14. March 9, 2011 5:56 PM

    I’m not picky… I’m selective. 🙂 I think this dip and I would get along just fine, though.
    My mom used to make a killer smoked trout dip back in the day, and I’d happily have eaten a whole bowl on my own given the opportunity. Love the idea of using smoked salmon instead, especially since that pretty pink colour just feels so springlike.

  15. March 10, 2011 4:36 AM

    I am a diehard smoked salmon lover. I am saving this recipe to use soon!

  16. March 10, 2011 8:44 AM

    There’s nothing wrong with being choosy. You’re quite right to enjoy food that’s as tasty as that dip. Whether it’s salmon or trout, this looks SO good and I’d dip at it non stop, too, if I had the chance!

  17. March 10, 2011 10:10 AM

    Oh that looks wonderful…I think it’s good to be a bit discerning with our tastes, after all we are the ones eating 🙂

  18. March 10, 2011 11:38 AM

    Discerning is a good thing – esp. when it comes to food and men 🙂 I love smoked trout and smoked salmon – so either one would have me dipping away, too. I can see why the light crispiness and salt of the pretzel chips is the perfect vehicle for either dip!

    • March 11, 2011 2:48 PM

      Priscilla, I agree to both! Mine is still a keeper even if he thinks I’m picky! I could be criticized for worse things, LOL! Thanks!

  19. March 10, 2011 7:17 PM

    your salmon dip sounds good and I think it goes well with the pretzels. well, I eat pretzels with almost all dips and spreads :))
    thanks for sharing Jean

  20. March 11, 2011 11:56 AM

    I don’t think you’re picky at all 🙂 You simply have a discerning palate. I love all kinds of chips and dip and I love this “grown up” twist 🙂

  21. March 15, 2011 5:49 PM

    How come you don’t have a search box so that I can search for all of your incredible recipes in your blog?

    Julie J.
    Camarillo

Leave a comment